What Happens If You Are Charged With Marijuana Possession in Memphis, Tennessee?

Possession

If you’re charged with misdemeanor marijuana possession in Memphis, you will be facing potential jail time, as well as a fine and court fees, and the chance of having a lasting conviction in your record. Your case will be discovered at the legal courthouse downtown, located at 201 Poplar Avenue, unless the crime happened in a neighboring place such as Bartlett, Collierville or even Germantown. These areas all have their particular courts which are set up to handle these types of cases. Remember that this article covers Tennessee law and particularly the procedures of Memphis-area courts. If you’re out Tennessee the laws and procedures of a marijuana possession case could be different.

Many individuals charged with marijuana www.trythecbd.com possession may wish to learn if the charge is about their record indefinitely. It depends. If the individual has not yet been convicted of a crime before, they will likely meet the requirements to enroll in an app called judicial diversion (usually just called diversion). Diversion is just a Tennessee law which allows qualified first-time offenders to have the full record of the case dismissed and removed upon completion of probation. There also penalties for marijuana possession under Tennessee law, and they range between $250 for first-time offenders to $1000 for repeat criminals.

Diversion does take a guilty plea, but judgment is then suspended therefore that the individual can start and finish statute. Having the decision suspended implies that the individual isn’t convicted. The fee remains pending during custody, and can be removed after Treaty is completed along with the fee is dismissed.

During childbirth the individual is going to need to, first and foremost, stay out of trouble. Getting charged with another crime is going to lead to a breach of probation and potentially being sentenced to jail for the entire 11 months and 29 days. There will be conditions of probation such as community service, drug offender classes, and random and frequent medication displays. A failed drug monitor may even lead to a breach. The person has to pay court costs, fines, and tax fees.

When custody is completed, the individual comes back to court to have the situation formally ignored by the judge. All the aforementioned costs and fines must be paid by this time. Upon dismissal, an expungment order will be prepared for the attorneys and the judge to sign. This order authorizes the devastation of all public records regarding the offense. Additional under Tennessee law the individual may answer”no” to any question as to whether they’ve ever been convicted or even charged with a crime.

For an individual charged with misdemeanor marijuana possession in the Memphis area, diversion might be the perfect approach to assure that the charged is properly disposed of and stays off her or his album. It will take a little time and some income, however if successfully done the charge is going to be removed forever.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *